Delphi musings

Delphi, the online discussion forum service, has become 99.9% flaming and .1% enlightening debates and rational discussions, IMO.

Assholes weary me, but somewhere in the back of my mind I’m just not willing to acknowledge that most of the assholes I deal with are confined to Delphi, and far less in the real world or even on Facebook. (No, I’m not talking about any recent dustups here – most of those have been minor – I’m talking in general, over the last few years.)

If I could pull myself away from the Delphi cesspool, actually have the courage to shut down this forum and walk away from the whole service, I would have much less aggravation. It really seems there are far more Kingpacos and right wing flamers than there are JRs and Peskydangs these days.

I like to argue and debate – I’m addicted to wrestling an issue and manage to do it with my friends in real life without anyone getting personally angry – but so rarely does an argument or debate stay civil on Delphi anymore. You can’t get more than five or six posts in before someone flings out a “Liar!” accusation or some other sort of ad hominem, and then the flames get flamier until it’s a long-running feud spilling across multiple forums, with people bringing up crap from years ago, or assholes bashing you over something you forgot about in the last decade, people stomping out of forums vowing never to return again, and evangelizing other Delphi forums with how bad THAT forum is.

And once you find yourself in a shooting war it’s awfully hard not to start shooting too. Very few are able to do it. I’m not.

I’m just wondering what the point is, and why I can’t bring myself to put an end to it. Maybe I’m just waiting for Delphi to die its inevitable death and comfort myself with the knowledge that I hung out until the very end. But is that really worth it?

